Generally if we talk about FIFA Ballon d’Or award, definitely only two names come in our minds “Lionel Messi vs Cristiano Ronaldo“, though it is not a battle anymore but in terms of skills, confidence, stamina, staying cool, handling situations and kicking ball into the net, both have same capabilities, well you would be surprised to know that Ronaldo has equal the record to Lionel Messi after winning FIFA Ballon d’Or Award 5th time. It is one of the highest Individual Award to the best player in the world every year.

A Complete List Of Ballon d’Or Winners Since 1956 To 2017
A Complete List Of Ballon d’Or Winners Since 1956 To 2017

History of FIFA Ballon d’Or Award looks pretty stunning, Let’s find out who won this award starting from 1956 to 2017. You know Rules change time to time, before 1956, it was known as “European Player of the Year Award”. In 2009, FIFA came forward and changed the title with “FIFA’s player of the Year Award”, with some changing in rules, now any player of any country or club can win the title as per FIFA’s new rules, calculation is accumulated at the end of each year and disclosed at the beginning of new year.

Let’s find out who won this award and how many times an Individual won FIFA Ballon d’Or Award, please have a look at below chart

1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1970 Gerd Müller Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer Germany Bayern Munich
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1976 Franz Beckenbauer Germany Bayern Munich
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany Bayern Munich
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany Bayern Munich
1982 Paolo Rossi  Italy Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands  AC Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan
1990 Lothar Matthäus  Germany Inter Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1995 George Weah Liberia AC Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Inter Milan
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czech Republic Juventus
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukraine AC Milan
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid/Juventus
2007 Kaká Brazil AC Milan
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (New) Portugal Real Madrid

Silent battle to win maximum awards between Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo continues, till to date, both have won 5 Times FIFA Ballon d’Or award which undoubtedly is the biggest achievement. Both players have the same capability and skill to lead their teams into the finals of FIFA Worldcup 2018. Stay tuned and follow us to enjoy Live Streaming on our website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here